roland who’s the jazzman in my mind

This summer has been exhausting, but in mostly good ways. First, there’s potty training. ‘Nuff said. Second, our dog needs surgery and while we are thinking positive, it’s likely 50/50. We’ve got a little over a week until her surgery is scheduled. She may be blocked with diaper filling. We hope the mass in the x-rays is diaper filling. It’s taken several months and several doctor’s visits to get to this point, so the summer budget has been destroyed. Nuked, really.

I’ve always intended to write more frequently here, but right now I’m in the middle of several writing projects. I’m not sure how much detail I can give yet, but I’ll be co-writing two comic books. One will be out this year, in a matter of months actually, but I have a lot of work to do on it. The other may be out this year or next year. Both, as far as I know, will be specialty one-off stories. For now.

I have another story for a comic that is “in process.” One production company out of two has given a thumbs-up. I’m just waiting on the other “okay” or “no way.” If this goes through, I have to do some revision, but the script itself is in draft form.

This summer I’ve also been co-writing some stuff that is making it into “production meetings.” This is good, just not definite.

A friend and I are trying to find an agent for another project that we have finally satisfactorily finished. It’s taken us several years, but I think it’s a good project and I hope it finds a home.

Little Billboards is close to hitting #100.

I started writing book reviews recently, but am not writing those as fast as I thought I would. I have one in process.

Also, I’m working on a new curriculum for my class. I teach AP classes and we just received our scores. My students broke all of my personal goals that I had for the next few years. My students scored at or above the national average on every section of the test. I’m trying to dig in and find ways of increasing my overall passing percentage, while staying true to principles that I have that are beyond test-taking.

While writing or cleaning up after my toddler, I’ve been listening to a lot of music. It’s nice to get back into listening again. I took a break for a few months. Barely listened to anything. Writing in the house or in coffee shops has meant headphones and using my own music to block out everything else.

The Sun City Girls. True trickster-shamans. Beautiful and brutal. Beware.

Omar Khorshid:

I need to wrangle children. Which reminds me of “When the Children Cry.” I preferred “Wait.”:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

