Coker’s Para-Philosophical Advice #1: Introduction

And the Doctor is in…Well, kind of….

Eunoia Solstice

McClurg:Dasein

Eunoia Solstice is proud to offer a new column that gives you a chance to have your questions answered–or perhaps only thought about– by a practicing philosopher.

Send your questions to cokersadvice at gmail dot com.*

1. How did you become interested in philosophy?

In undergraduate my original career plan was to become a Lutheran minister. I spent Freshman year (1974-1975) in an Honors Program at Valparaiso University in Valparaiso, Indiana, where I took an entire course on Aristotle. I transferred to the University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA (the Hawkeyes), for my remaining three years (1975-1978). I decided to study both Philosophy and Religion, and I graduated, with Honors, as a double major in them. Iowa Philosophy was Anglo-American Analytic, but my favorite teacher in Religion was Robert Scharlemann, who had been a student of Paul Tillich (who directed his Ph.D. thesis) and who had also studied under Heidegger…

View original post 250 more words

Leave a Reply

